This post may contain affiliate links. Click for complete disclosures.
Here is a deep dive into the ingredients that make up a three musketeers candy bar. Let's find out if it's gluten-free or not.
Have you ever wanted to grab a three musketeers bar at the store but didn't because you were not sure if it was gluten-free? I looked into and here's what I found out about the 3 musketeers bars.
Yes, 3 Musketeers candy bars are considered gluten-free, but there are a few things to keep in mind before deciding if these candy bars are safe to consume for yourself.
Varieties of 3 Musketeers.
Unlike a lot of other candy bars, 3 Musketeers bars come in more of different shapes than really different varieties.
- Full-size candy bar.
- Sharing size candy bar.
- 3 Musketeers minis.
- 3 Musketeers fun size.
- 3 Musketeers unwrapped varieties.
Thankfully all the sizes contain the same ingredients.
3 Musketeers ingredients.
Three Musketeers bars are a popular chocolate candy bar that consists of a nougat coated in milk chocolate. According to Mars Wrigley, the owners of the 3 Musketeers, they contain the following ingredients.
MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, CHOCOLATE, COCOA BUTTER, SKIM MILK, LACTOSE, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN), SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, PALM OIL, COCOA POWDER PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, LESS THAN 1% - SALT, EGG WHITES, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS.
Unlike Milk Ways, these do not contain any stand-out ingredients that would be considered gluten. What we do see is the ingredients of natural and artificial ingredients, which could come from gluten sources.
Looking at the allergy warning on the label of the 3 Musketeers bar, it does not say that it contains wheat. Even with the presence of natural and artificial ingredients on the label, they are still considered gluten-free because Mars Wrigley says that they include any gluten-containing ingredients on their label. Because there is no designation of gluten by these ingredients, we can conclude that they do not come from gluten ingredients.
- Dairy - 3 Musketeers candy bars are not considered dairy-free as they contain skim milk, lactose, and milkfat in the chocolate.
- Eggs - 3 Musketeers should be avoided by anyone with an egg allergy as they contain egg whites.
- Soy - For those avoiding soy in their diets, 3 Musketeers should not be consumed as they contain soy lecithin.
- Peanuts - While 3 Musketeers candy bars do NOT contain peanuts, the allergy warning on the side of the package warns that the presence of peanuts is possible. This is likely due to possible cross-contact with peanuts during processing.
It's important to note that 3 Musketeers bars are not certified gluten-free. This means that while they do not contain gluten ingredients, they have not gone through any testing to certify them as gluten-free. Since 3 Musketeers are produced in such large quantities, it is possible that they can come in contact with gluten during processing. Because of this, it is important to always double-check the labels before consuming.
The 3 Musketeers candy bars are considered gluten-free and safe to consume on a gluten-free diet. This includes those with celiac. Always check labels for any possible product changes and use your own judgment before eating this candy or anything else.
More gluten-free candy.
Feel free to share this article with friends and family to help more people know how to help keep loved ones gluten-free.