This post may contain affiliate links. Click for complete disclosures.
Questioning whether or not snickers bars are gluten-free? Find out which varieties are safe to eat for those on a gluten-free diet.
Trying to figure out which candy is gluten-free or not is not always easy. In this article, we are deep diving into snickers bars to find out once and for all if snickers are gluten-free and if they are safe to consume on a gluten-free diet, including for those with celiac disease.
Yes, Snickers candy bars are considered gluten-free, but there are a few things to note before deciding whether or not you should consume them.
What are Snickers?
Snickers is a very popular candy bar. They consist of a creamy nougat topped with crunchy peanuts and smooth caramel that is dipped in milk chocolate.
Ingredients in Snickers.
According to Mars Wrigley, Snickers contains the following ingredients.
Milk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, chocolate, skim milk, lactose, milk fat, soy lecithin), peanuts, corn syrup, sugar, palm oil, skim milk, lactose, salt, egg whites, artificial flavor.
At first glance, the only possible gluten-containing ingredient on the Snickers label is the artificial flavor.
The allergy warning label on the packaging of Snickers says, "Allergy information: Contains peanuts, milk, egg, and soy. May contain tree nuts.
Mars states that the most accurate information on the possibility of allergens present will be listed on the packaging. Since this is the case and the packaging does not list wheat or gluten on the label, we can say that Snickers candy bars are likely gluten-free.
It is important to note that none of the packagings states that anything is gluten-free. This is likely due to the possibility of cross-contact with gluten during processing and packaging in a shared environment. This does not mean there is gluten; it just means Mars has not had the product tested for contact with gluten.
Other allergens and dietary restrictions.
- Peanuts - Snickers contain actual peanuts in the candy and should not be eaten by anyone with a peanut allergy.
- Tree Nuts - All of the varieties of Snickers have a warning that they may contain tree nuts and should not be eaten by an individual with a nut allergy.
- Dairy - All of the varieties of Snickers contain skim milk in the chocolate, making Snickers candy, not dairy-free.
- Soy - The chocolate that Snickers uses contains soy through soy lecithin.
- Eggs - Snickers contain egg whites and should be avoided by anyone with an egg allergy.
Special note: Even the almond snickers bar that has almonds in it instead of peanuts still contains the warning label for peanuts.
There are a lot of varieties of Snickers, and at the time of this article, all of them appear to be gluten-free, except the ice cream bars, which say they may contain wheat.
If you want to enjoy Snickers, I suggest trying one of these other varieties.
- Snickers Milk Chocolate Candy Bar - all sizes
- Snickers Almond Candy Bar - all sizes
- Snickers Peanut Butter Squared Candy Bar - all sizes
- Snickers White Chocolate Candy Bar - all sizes
- Snickers Peanut Brownie Squares Candy Bar - all sizes
- Snickers Dark Chocolate Almond Brownie Candy Bar - all sizes
- Snickers Creamy Peanut Butter Squared Candy Bar - all sizes
If you really are feeling like some Snickers ice cream, then I suggest trying the following.
- Snickers Ice Cream Pint or Cup
Not gluten-free Snickers
The only product lines of Snickers that contain or can contain wheat are the Snickers ice cream bars which include the following.
- Snickers Ice Cream Bar - Says may contain wheat.
- Snickers Peanut Brownie Ice Cream Bars - Do contain wheat.
Snickers candy is considered gluten-free and safe for those on a gluten-free diet. This includes those who are celiac. As stated above, it's important to always check the product labeling on any Snickers product for the most accurate allergy information.
The only varieties of the Snickers that should be avoided for the possibility of gluten are the ice cream bars. All of the candy bars are gluten-free.
As with all mass-produced products that are not certified gluten-free, there is always a possibility of cross-contact with gluten from shared lines. If you or someone you know has a severe allergy to gluten, then I would not consume Snickers.
More gluten-free candy.
Feel free to share this article with friends and family to help more people know how to help keep loved ones gluten-free.
Leave a comment.