Take a deep dive into the popular Milky Way candy bars to find out whether or not they are truly gluten-free.
When it comes to finding gluten-free candy, it isn't always easy. Gluten-free chocolate can even tricker. This is because chocolate is often mixed with various ingredients to help make the flavor distinct and draw the consumer in to want to eat more of it. Milky Way candy bars are very popular, but what are they made of? Are Milky Way candy bars gluten-free?
The Quick Answer - Are Milky Ways Gluten Free?
The original Milky Way candy bars are NOT gluten-free. However, there are a couple of varieties of Milky Way candy bars that are considered gluten-free - Milky Way Simply Caramel and Milky Way Midnight Dark Chocolate Candy Bars.
Because of the differences, it's important to make sure you are consuming the right varieties on a gluten-free diet.
Check out if Snickers Are Gluten Free.
Ingredients in Milky Ways
The original version of Milky Ways has the following ingredients.
Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Skim Milk, Chocolate, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Flavor), Corn Syrup, Sugar, Palm Oil, Skim Milk, Less Than 2% - Milkfat, Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali, Barley Malt Extract, Lactose, Salt, Egg Whites, Chocolate, Artificial Flavor.
The main culprit that makes the original Milky Way candy bar NOT gluten-free is the barley malt extract. Barley is one of the main grains that contain gluten, and it has been used for decades to enhance the flavor of chocolate.
Milky Way Varieties
Mars Wrigley, the parent company that makes the Milky Way candy, makes a few different varieties the original, simply caramel, midnight dark chocolate bar, and a fudge bar.
- The Simply Caramel Milky Way is just what the name implies, caramel dipped in milk chocolate.
- The Midnight Dark Chocolate Milky Way bar contains a vanilla nougat, topped with chocolate and then coated in dark chocolate.
- Milky Way Fudge bar is a fudge nougat that is topped with caramel and dipped in milk chocolate.
Gluten-free Milky Ways
While the original Milky Way candy bar is NOT gluten-free. Both the simply caramel and the midnight dark ARE gluten-free.
Neither one of these varieties contains the barley malt extract found in the original version.
That said, Mars Inc does not confirm that these are made in a gluten-free facility, so there is possibility of cross contamination. If you are celiac, you might want to avoid Milky Ways of all varieties.
Milky Way Simply Caramel Milk Chocolate Ingredients
Milk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, skim milk, chocolate, lactose, milkfat, soy lecithin, artificial flavor), corn syrup, sugar, palm oil, skim milk, milkfat, lactose, salt, chocolate, artificial flavor. contains milk and soy. may contain peanuts and egg.
As you can see, there are no gluten ingredients in the Milky Way Caramel bar!
Milky Way Midnight Dark Chocolate Ingredients
Semisweet chocolate (sugar, chocolate processed with alkali, chocolate, cocoa butter, milkfat, soy lecithin, natural flavor), corn syrup, sugar, palm oil, skim milk, less than 1.5% – milkfat, lactose, salt, egg whites, natural and artificial flavors, chocolate. contains milk, egg, and soy. may contain peanuts.
As you can see, there are no gluten ingredients in the Milky Way Dark Chocolate bar!
- Dairy - All of the varieties of Milky Ways contain dairy, making these not a safe option for those needing to stay dairy-free. The presence of dairy also means that Milky Ways is not vegan or dairy-free.
- Eggs - Milk Way candy bars contain egg whites, so they should be avoided by anyone with an egg allergy.
- Soy - Milky Ways contains soy lecithin, which is a food additive, usually used as an emulsifier and flavor enhancer.
- Peanuts - While Milky Way candy bars do not specifically contain peanuts, their packaging contains the allergy warning label that says they may contain peanuts. This is probably due to processing. If someone is worried about cross-contact with peanuts, they should most likely avoid consuming Milky Ways.
Milky Way Allergen Labeling
- It is important to note that Mars Wrigley does NOT list wheat under the allergy information label on the packaging of their original Milky Ways.
- This is likely because while barley is NOT gluten-free, the labeling requirements in the United States are based on the top eight allergens. Wheat is one of them; barley is not. Therefore the presence of barley malt, aka a gluten-containing ingredient, is not wheat and does not have to be listed under the allergy warning on the label.
- None of the Milky Ways varieties are gluten-free, including the caramel and midnight varieties. Even though those two varieties do not contain any gluten ingredients, this is likely due to the possibility of manufacturing and gluten present on machines. This does not mean they are not gluten-free. This just means they are not tested to confirm they didn't become contaminated with gluten.
Only the original version of Milky Ways contains barley malt, which makes these not gluten-free. The Simply Caramel and Midnight Dark versions of the Milky Ways do not contain barley malt and do not list any other ingredients that contain gluten. This means these two varieties should be considered gluten-free and safe for individuals on a gluten-free diet.
It is important to remember that none of the varieties of Milky Ways are listed as gluten-free, which means that Simply Caramel and Midnight Dark are not tested by the company to confirm they are gluten-free. If cross-contamination is a concern, then avoid Milky Ways.
It is important to always check the labels before consuming. Companies can and do change ingredients from time to time, depending on manufacturing and supply chains.
More Gluten-Free Candy Articles
Check out more gluten-free candy articles to make sure you're staying gluten-free.
Feel free to share this article with friends and family to help more people know how to help keep loved ones gluten-free.