Find out if tootsie rolls are gluten-free, and more common questions about tootsie rolls are answered to see if this candy is safe for a gluten-free diet and for individuals with celiac.
Tootsie rolls have always been a favorite candy of mine to eat since I was a kid. In fact, I usually try and trade them out from our kids every Halloween, haha. The fact that tootsie rolls come in not only the traditional chocolate flavor but also fun fruity flavors just makes me love them even more.
The Short Answer - Are Tootsie Rolls Gluten-Free?
I've got good news for you because ALL of the products from Tootsie Roll Industries, the company that makes tootsie rolls, are gluten-free.
That means you can enjoy all the delicious candy and not worry about getting sick from hidden gluten. If you didn't know, Tootsie Roll Industries makes a lot of different candy.
- Tootsie Rolls
- Tootsie Pops - You can count all the licks to get to the center of a gluten-free tootsie pop!
- Caramel Apple Pops
- Dubble Bubble
- Charm's Blow Pops
And so much more. Check out their site for all the delicious gluten-free candy they make.
Tootsie Rolls Ingredients
The ingredients in classic Tootsie Rolls are:
"sugar, corn syrup, palm oil, condensed skim milk, cocoa, whey, soy lecithin, artificial and natural flavors"
There are no gluten ingredients, and Tootsie Rolls Industries confirms that their products are gluten-free.
What is Tootsie Roll Industries' take on Gluten and Other Food Allergies?
According to their site, Tootsie Roll Industries, "At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products." (https://tootsie.com/faqs)
Are Tootsie Rolls Dairy-Free?
Unfortunately, tootsie rolls are not dairy-free. They contain condensed skim milk and whey in their ingredients.
Are Tootsie Rolls Nut Free?
Tootsie rolls are not only labeled as gluten-free but they are also labeled peanut-free. According to Tootsie Roll Industries, "All of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut, and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our manufacturing plants." (https://tootsie.com/faqs)
Are Tootsie Pops Gluten-Free?
Tootsie Pops have the same ingredients as Tootsie rolls on the inside of the pops, with a hard candy shell on the outside. The candy shell is made with gluten-free ingredients and is safe for a gluten-free diet.
Tootsie Pops Ingredients: Sugar, Corn Syrup, Palm Oil, Citric Acid (May Contain Malic Acid), Condensed Skim Milk, Cocoa, Whey, Artificial And Natural Flavors, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Colors (Including FD&C Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1), Strawberry Powder. Contains Milk, Contains Soy.
Are Tootsie Rolls Safe to Eat if you have Celiac Disease?
Yes, tootsie rolls are safe to eat for those on a gluten-free diet, including those individuals with celiac disease.
Now that you know that tootsie rolls make the cut for being gluten-free, feel free to add them to your gluten-free candy list for Halloween and all the days of the year.
More Gluten-Free Candy Articles
Is there another candy you're wondering about? Tell me in the comments below!
Feel free to share this article with friends and family to help more people know how to help keep loved ones gluten-free.