This post may contain affiliate links. Click for complete disclosures.
There is a lot of debate about alcohol and gluten. It's time to break down the truth behind Corona beer and see if it is gluten-free or not.
When it comes to alcohol, there is a lot of controversy and debates about which kinds of alcohol are or are not gluten-free. One of the biggest debates is about beer. Let's deep dive into one of the most popular and highly talked about beers, Corona.
REMEMBER TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE NEWSLETTER FOR FREE AND RECEIVE WEEKLY RECIPE NOTIFICATIONS AND SUBSCRIBER ONLY BONUSES.
YOU CAN ALSO FOLLOW GRAIN FREE TABLE ON PINTEREST TO MAKE IT EASY TO SAVE YOUR FAVORITE RECIPES!
No, Corona beer is NOT gluten-free. Sadly, there is a lot of misinformation from individuals who claim it is. Let's clear this up once and for all.
What is Corona beer made from?
All beers contain four basic ingredients a grain, hops, yeast, and water. Most The grain
Corona is made with barley, which is one of the main ingredients that gluten is found. Barley, along with foods and beverages made from or with barley, is not considered gluten-free.
Testing gluten in beer.
In the United States, per the FDA guidelines, the gluten limit for foods and beverages to be considered gluten-free is 20 ppm. When it comes to testing Corona and other beers, just testing the beer like other foods isn't going to result in the same results test after test. Here's why.
- The ingredients in Corona and other beers are broken down into pieces when the beer is in the fermentation process.
- When gluten is being tested, the test is most accurate at detecting whole, intact particles of gluten, not pieces of gluten.
- With the testing not being able to accurately determine the full volume of gluten, the test results then become unreliable.
- These inaccurate test results can lead Corona and other non-gluten-free beers to falsely test negative for the presence of gluten. This is where you get people saying they tested Corona, and it tested below the 20 ppm for something to be considered gluten-free.
Gluten-free labeling for beer.
Traditional beers like Corona and other drinks made from or with malted barley or hops do not fall under the regulation of the FDA, which is in charge of gluten-free labeling. Beers fall under the authority of Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, also known as the TTB.
Under their regulations, any beer cannot be labeled gluten-free if any of the ingredients in the beer contain gluten grains like barley.
Since Corona beer is made from barley, neither the FDA nor the TTB would consider it gluten-free, and it would not be allowed to be labeled gluten-free in the United States.
What does Corona say?
Don't want to take the word of government agencies?
According to Corona's own website, it states, "Corona Extra, Corona Light, Corona Familiar, and Corona Premier are made from malted barley, which naturally contains gluten. The fermentation process significantly lowers its content. However, there are traces of gluten in Corona Extra, Corona Light, Corona Familiar, and Corona Premier. We recommend that you consult your physician regarding consumption. Corona Hard Seltzer, Corona Seltzerita, and Corona Hard Seltzer Limonada are fermented from sugar and are gluten free." (https://www.coronausa.com/pages/faqs)
Reaction or no reaction.
If you do a quick search, there are sadly a LOT of people claiming that they can and do drink traditional beer like Corona and "do not have a reaction." Personally, I consider this very dangerous and damaging, especially for those individuals who are new to being gluten-free.
Corona contains barley, barley contains gluten, and it should not be consumed by those on a gluten-free diet, especially for those with celiac disease.
Just because one person does not feel sick, or have noticeable symptoms when they consume it, does not mean that damage isn't being done.
While I cannot tell you what to eat or drink, I can tell you that Corona beer is NOT GLUTEN-FREE. If you are on a gluten-free diet, I suggest looking for and trying a few gluten-free beers that you can enjoy instead.
If you're curious about what else is or isn't gluten-free, check out a few of the articles below. Don't see what you're looking for? Drop a comment below, or feel free to reach out.
Feel free to share this article with friends and family to help more people know how to help keep loved ones gluten-free.
Leave a comment.